2022 Municipal Election Results

Oct 27, 2022 | Front Page, Government News

Manitoba’s municipal election took place on Wednesday.

Click here to view all the results broken down by region, including Northern, Interlake, Eastern, Central, Midwestern, Parkland, and Western from CTV News.

In the City of Winnipeg, Scott Gillingham was elected as the next mayor of Winnipeg, with 27.5 per cent of the vote. Gillingham was first elected as city councillor for St. James in 2014 and was re-elected in 2018. Another change coming to the city includes one new face on council after Evan Duncan was elected for Charleswood-Tuxedo-Westwood. There are familiar faces on Winnipeg’s city council, including:

  • Jason Schreyer: re-elected in Elmwood-East Kildonan
  • Sherri Rollins: Fort Rouge-East Fort Garry
  • Ross Eadie: Mynarski
  • Jeff Browaty: North Kildonan
  • Devi Sharma: Old Kildonan
  • Vivian Santos: Point Douglas
  • John Orlikow: River Heights-Fort Garry
  • Matt Allard: St. Boniface
  • Shawn Dobson: elected for St. James after losing last time to Scott Gillingham
  • Markus Chambers: acclaimed in St. Norbert-Seine River
  • Brian Mayes: Vital ward
  • Former councillor Russ Wyatt beat incumbent Shawn Nason to return to city hall for Transcona; and
  • Janice Lukes: Waverley West

To address the city’s current financial situation, Gillingham said one of the first things he is going to do is see where the city is at and whether it has started to recover financially from the pandemic. He said he also put forward a plan for the city that included raising taxes.

“I was very clear about that. I was very honest with voters to say it’s time to raise revenue for the City of Winnipeg,” he said, “We’ll continue to control costs, but it’s time to raise revenue, so that will be the next step, we look at the 2023 budget.”

Similar Posts