IISD Welcomes New Board Members

Jun 28, 2012 | Corporate Member News

WINNIPEG—June 28, 2012—The International Institute for Sustainable Development board of directors welcomed three new members at its annual general meeting in Winnipeg and has also approved the restructuring of its executive leadership team with the appointment of seven vice presidents.

“The new senior management structure has created a more dynamic executive leadership team that offers strong motivation for accountability and collaboration at the project and program levels,” said board chair Dan Gagnier.

Gagnier thanked retiring board members Roger Gibbins, Måns Lönnroth and Bruce Sampson for their service to the institute and congratulated past president and former CEO Franz Tattenbach for his appointment to distinguished fellow of IISD. He also congratulated former board member John Forgách, and Robert Brennan, former CEO and past president of Manitoba Hydro, on their respective appointments to senior fellows of the institute.

New board members

  • Andrea Moffat is the vice president, corporate program for United States-based Ceres,  which mobilizes a powerful network of investors, companies and pubic interest groups to accelerate sustainability leadership. She leads the  engagements with more than 70 companies to help them meet sustainability commitments and achieve greater performance results.
  • Felix von Sury is a freelance consultant with over 30 years of experience in international and development cooperation. Until 2011, he was executive director of Intercooperation, a large Swiss NGO. Before that he worked 13 years for the Swiss Government and held a number of positions, including country director Nepal of SDC. He is a member of the advisory committee of EAWAG, the Swiss Aquatic Research Institute.
  • Alan Young is the executive director of the Canadian Boreal Initiative and was its corporate program director from 2003 to 2011. He has been involved in conservation and sustainability projects in North America, Latin America and Europe for 20 years and has worked as a facilitator, planner, analyst and activist with conservation groups, Aboriginal organizations, industry and governments.

There are now 21 members of the board, representing seven countries. The board usually meets twice a year.

New vice presidents

  • Janice Gair, VP – Human Resources and Corporate Services
  • Bill Glanville, VP – Institutional Strategy and Planning
  • Langston James “Kimo” Goree VI, VP – Reporting Services and UN Liaison
  • Mark Halle, VP – International
  • David Sawyer, VP – Climate, Energy and Partnerships
  • Ian Seymour, VP – Finance
  • Henry (Hank) Venema, VP – Science and Innovation

Similar Posts


advertisement advertisement


How would you describe your overall outlook for 2023?

Do you believe that Manitoba’s business climate is competitive? How are you managing the widespread labour force shortages? How is inflation affecting the internal operations of your business? http://ow.ly/5AA850LSWvj

The Digital Manitoba Initiative was created to provide businesses with the resources and expertise needed to make sound technology investment decisions to compete in an increasingly digital world: https://mbchamber.mb.ca/2022/11/21/the-digital-services-program-helping-manitoba-companies-increase-digital-capacity/