2012-2013 Manitoba Chambers Appoints New Board

May 7, 2012 | Chamber News

The 81st Annual General Meeting held in Winkler and Morden on April 27-29  saw a number of new developments including the election of new officers and a new slate of board members.

The officers of the Manitoba Chambers of Commerce include:

Carol A. Paradine, Deloitte, Chair of the Board.

Carol is a Deloitte Canada Board member and the leader of Deloitte’s Winnipeg office. A Chartered Accountant and CPA, she provides financial advisory, assurance, and related services to clients in a variety of sectors.  Carol has been a partner for 14 years and has worked with Deloitte for 23 years. She has been highly active in the community during her career, including Board positions with the Alzheimer’s Society of Manitoba, National Capital Region YMCA-YWCA, Carleton University advisory Board to the Faculty of Business, Harmony House (a women’s shelter), Carleton University as a lecturer and coach, the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants’ task forces, the United Way, the Ottawa Carleton Research Institute and as a girl’s soccer coach.  Carol graduated from Carleton University with a Bachelor of Commerce -Highest Honours in 1987.

Immediate Past Chair | Frank Sottana, CIBC has served as the Chair of the Board in 2011-2012.

Frank was born and raised in Guelph, Ontario. He attended the University of Guelph and McMaster University (Hamilton, Ontario).   Frank has been employed with CIBC for over 25 years with most of his career spent in Southern Ontario.  He accepted a move to Manitoba as District Manager in 2002 and together with his family, moved to Winnipeg in September 2002.Frank is currently Vice President, CIBC, Winnipeg.  Frank has enjoyed being active in the Communities in which he has worked. Here is a partial list of his past community involvement: Chairperson of the Lambton Hospitals Group (3 Hospitals, with a total operating budget of over $130 Million and over 1800 staff), on the Campaign Cabinet of the United Way (Windsor, Ont) and has been involved in many different chambers and currently sits on the Board for the Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce.

Vice Chair |Jamie Alyce Jurczak is a Partner with Taylor McCaffrey LLP, where she practices in the areas of labour and employment law, occupational health and safety law, and general litigation.  She graduated from the University of Ottawa with her LL.B. in 2003, and was called to the Manitoba Bar in 2004.  Her preferred area of practice is occupational health and safety.  Jamie is the vice-chair of the Canadian Association Counsel to  Employers OHS subcommittee, and is the author of the forthcoming OHS chapter of the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (Western).  In addition to her active involvement in the Canadian and Manitoba Bar Associations, she owns her own dance studio, Maples Academy of Dance, where she is an actively continues to teach ballet, tap, jazz and musical theatre.

Vice Chair |Kenneth Thomas was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba. He graduated from Red River College with a Business Administration Diploma and continued his education in the CGA program. Ken is a senior financial manager with extensive experience in the transportation and construction sectors and is currently Controller of Bridge Road Developments Ltd. He is a respected community leader who contributes to the community in various capacities, which include an officer and director of the Manitoba Chambers of Commerce, past-president of the Winkler & District Chamber of Commerce, and church treasurer of The Meeting Place in Winnipeg.

Treasurer | Regan Windsor has been with Manitoba Hydro in several capacities since 2006.  She has served several departments within Hydro and currently  is Manager,  Agreements Management Department, overseeing the financial analysis, accounting and reporting services associated with activities that alleviate Aboriginal concerns arising from the effects of Manitoba Hydro’s operations. Regan has an MBA from Laurentian University as well as several professional designations including  that of CGA.   She plays an active role in the CGA serving on the board as well as numerous committees and task forces.   She also leads Girl Guides and is committed to helping young people.

Corporate Secretary | Dan Belhassen has had a  life-long interest in using technology to help businesses work better which led to the founding of Modern Earth Inc in 1999, with a staff of one and a vision for growing a dynamic web services company that would help businesses succeed online. In 2005, he won the “Smart Partners Award for Entrepreneurship” and was the Manitoba Recipient of the BDC “Young Entrepreneur of the Year” award in 2007.  2007 was also the year that Dan and the Earthlings moved into the Modern Earth Business Centre, their own building located 5 minutes from downtown Winnipeg in St. Boniface.  Now, in 2012 Dan and the over 20 Earthlings celebrate the 13th year of  Modern Earth by providing web design, custom programming, online marketing and elearning services to over 700 clients on 5 continents.   Dan also chairs the Marketing Committee for the Chambers and is on the Policy Committee. He is deeply committed to the community and to his staff.

Legal Council |Todd Andres is an associate at Pitblado Law where he practices in the areas of labour and employment law.  Todd received his law degree from the University of Manitoba in 2006 and was called to the Bar in June 2007. Todd practices in the areas of labour employment law and commercial and civil litigation.  He acts on behalf of employers at various administrative tribunals and has appeared at all levels of court.  His practice areas include employment and labour law, human rights law and litigation as well as administrative law and judicial review.

Other Board Members

Nominated Board of Directors – Chamber Representatives

Mr. Gerry Glatz, Assiniboia Chamber of Commerce

Ms. Judy Murphy, Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Lorne Floyd, Arborg and District Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Cam Clark, Brandon Chamber of Commerce

Ms. Mabel Maxim, Morris and District Chamber of Commerce

Ms. Judith Sawatzky, Winkler and District Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Scott Whitmore, Dauphin Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Laurent Soret, Chambre de Commerce francophone de Saint-Boniface

Nominated Board of Directors – Corporate Members

Mr. Dale Lacombe, PwC LLP

Mr. Wadood Ibrahim, Protegra

Mr. Michael Selci, BDC

Mr. Merv Gunter, Frontiers North Inc

Ms. Lynda G. Taylor, BMO Bank of Montreal

Ms. Lesley Hamilton, Investors Group Financial Services Inc.

Mr. Tom Frohlinger, Pullan Kammerloch Frohlinger

Mr. Kyle Romaniuk, ClarkHuot/Cocoon

Mr. Michael Rodyniuk, Exchange Income Corporation

Nominated Board of Directors – Ex Officio

Mr. Damon Johnston, Aboriginal Chamber

Ms. Silvia de Sousa, representing the Young Associates with Thompson Dorfman Sweatman LLP

Dr. Digvir S. Jayas, University of Manitoba

Mr. Wayne McWhirter, Meyers Norris Penny LLP representing the Canadian Chamber of Commerce

Representatives of the Past Chair

Mr. Brian Kelly. Kelwin Management Consulting

Mr. David Newman, Pitblado LLP

Representatives – Chair’s Appointment

Mr. Jack Wilson, Third Quarter

Mr. Barry Cullen, Keywest Photo and Image by Design

Mr. Wayne McWhiter, MNP

Similar Posts


advertisement advertisement


Manitoba Chamber Network Takes Part in Advocacy Day https://mbchamber.mb.ca/2022/12/05/manitoba-chamber-network-takes-part-in-advocacy-day/

Last chance to save money on WAG Studio art classes - early bird registration ends today! 🎨

Sign up for classes like Digital Drawing for kids & adults, Watercolour Painting, Mixed Media and Animation 🖌️

See all the classes & register 👉️ https://www.wag.ca/learn/art-classes/