Buck Pierce receives Ed Kotowich Good Guy Award

Oct 26, 2011 | Corporate Member News

Winnipeg Blue Bomber quarterback Buck Pierce has been named the 2011 recipient of the Ed Kotowich Good Guy Award, which recognizes a Blue Bomber player for their excellence in combining football ability, team camaraderie and extraordinary effort in the community. 

Since signing with the Blue Bombers in April, 2010, Pierce has made a commitment to the city of Winnipeg by putting up permanent residence year-round and has been very active in the community, giving back whenever he can.  He has donated his time to organizations such as the United Way and has participated in many Blue Bomber appearances with the I Love to Read program at various schools throughout the city and province.  Pierce has also taken the time to reach outside of Winnipeg and has travelled to many different rural towns throughout Manitoba for public speaking events. 

“I am very humbled to be receiving this honour, but to me, there is nothing greater than giving back to the community that you get the opportunity to represent,” said Pierce.  “I really enjoy everything about the city of Winnipeg and am proud to call myself a Blue Bomber.” 

The award honours Ed Kotowich – a former outstanding offensive lineman who played for Winnipeg from 1955-1961, playing in three Grey Cup games (’58, ’59, ’61). 

After retiring as a player, Kotowich worked with the Winnipeg Rods as an offensive line coach and later with minor football programs at Winakwa and Windsor Park Community Clubs.  He also served as an alderman for the city of St. Boniface between 1968 and 1977 and worked on a number of community boards, including the St. Boniface Parks Board, the St. Boniface Museum and the Knights of Columbus.  

Kotowich was an outstanding player on the field and was even more outstanding in the community and this award goes to the Bomber player who best represents what Kotowich was all about. 

Ed Kotowich Award Winners: 

  • 2011 – Buck Pierce
  • 2010 – Doug Brown
  • 2009 – Jon Oosterhuis
  • 2008 – Obby Khan
  • 2007 – Milt Stegall
  • 2006 – Chris Cvetkovic
  • 2005 – Milt Stegall
  • 2004 – Matt Sheridan
  • 2003 – Moe Elewonibi
  • 2002 – Dave Mudge
  • 2001 – Brett MacNeil
  • 2000 – Troy Westwood
  • 1999 – Dave Vankoughnett
  • 1998 – Glen Scrivener
  • 1997 – Wade Miller
  • 1996 – Wade Miller
  • 1995 – Miles Gorrell
  • 1994 – Matt Pearce
  • 1993 – Matt Dunigan
  • 1992 – Darryl Sampson
  • 1991 – Matt Pearce
  • 1990 – Rod Hill
  • 1989 – Perry Tuttle
  • 1988 – Trevor Kennerd
  • 1987 – Vernon Pahl

Similar Posts