AGM 2011: Outgoing Chair Wayne McWhirter Passes the Torch

May 15, 2011 | Chamber News

As Chair of the Manitoba Chambers of Commerce Wayne McWhirter helped steer the MCC through a wide-array of changes including the implementation of a three-year strategic plan and Third Quarter initiative – the MCC’s largest partnership with government to date. As well, he participated in the MCC’s usual broad diversity of activities including a trade mission to China and over 60 events. 

Wayne McWhirter’s Speech as Outgoing Chair:

The Manitoba Chambers of Commerce thanks Wayne McWhirter for his service as the 2010-2011 Chair.

Wayne receives a token of the MCC’s appreciation from incoming Chair Frank Sottana

Brief Bio: Wayne McWhirter is a partner with Meyers Norris Penny LLP, a chartered accounting and business advisory firm with 21 offices in Manitoba and offices throughout Canada. 

Wayne has been with the firm since 1982 and along with his duties as a client service partner providing professional services to owner managed and public sector organizations, he also is Vice President of Quality Management for the firm.  He received his Bachelor of Commerce (Honours.) degree from the University of Manitoba in 1978.  He obtained his designation of Chartered Accountant in 1981 and became a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Canada that same year. 

Wayne was involved with the firm at many levels, on the Assurance Services Committee, Partner Selection Committee and most recently on the Board of the Firm.  He also is a member of the Board at Southwood Golf and Country Club and has served many years as a coach for minor hockey and baseball.

Thanks to our host, the Brandon Chamber of Commerce, and a special thanks to our sponsors; they helped make our AGM possible and the success it was (click on company title to access its website):

AV Sponsor

Avent Pro 


Rogers Communications

Chair’s Reception



Chambers of Commerce Group Insurance

Canadian National Railway

Tribal Councils Investment Group

Place Louis Suite Hotel

Workers Compensation Board of Manitoba


Meyers Norris Penny

Victoria Inn

Maple Leaf

Entrepreneurship, Training & Trade

Credit Union Central of Manitoba

Imaginet Resources Corp

MTS Allstream

Procurement Services Branch

Southport Aerospace

Manitoba Pork Council

Manitoba Lotteries

Manitoba Hydro

Manitoba Public Insurance


Cando Contracting Ltd.

Thompson Dorfman Sweatman

Corporate Supporter

PCL Constructors Canada

The Canadian Wheat Board

TD Merchant Services

Similar Posts