Winnipeg Airports Authority Inc. Announces New Chair, Vice Chair and Welcomes New Board Members

Feb 4, 2011 | Corporate Member News

Winnipeg Airports Authority Inc. (WAA) is pleased to announce the election of Mr. Thomas (Tom) A. Bryk, FCA as Chair and Mr. Garth H. Smorang, Q.C. as Vice Chair of the Board of Directors.

Mr. Bryk succeeds Dr. Arthur Mauro who served as Chair since 2003 and whose term concluded December 31, 2010. Mr. Smorang succeeds Mr. Doug Harvey whose term also concluded.

Mr. Bryk joined Winnipeg Airports Authority’s Board in 2004. Formally trained as a Chartered Accountant and recognized as a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Manitoba in 2004, Mr. Bryk is currently the President and CEO of Cambrian Credit Union. Involved in the community, Mr. Bryk also serves on the Board of Directors of The Associates of the Asper School of Business as well as the Board of the Manitoba Chartered Accountants Foundation Inc. He was appointed to the Audit Committee of the Winnipeg Foundation in 2009 and in January 2010 appointed as Honorary Colonel of the Canadian Forces School of Survival & Aeromedical Training (CFSSAT) at 17 Wing Winnipeg. In May 2010, he was elected to the Board of Directors of the Business Council of Manitoba. Tom Bryk also served the community as Past Chair of the United Way which under his leadership surpassed the goal for community investment.


On behalf of the Board of Directors of Winnipeg Airports Authority Inc, Chair Tom Bryk is pleased to welcome new members: Mr. Thomas Payne Jr., Mr. H. Sanford (Sandy) Riley and Mr. Paul Soubry.

Nominated by the Rural Municipality of Rosser, Mr. Thomas Payne Jr. is the President and CEO of Payne Transportation L.P., which he co-founded in June 2000. Mr. Payne serves as President of the Board of Directors of the Manitoba Trucking Association, Director of The Canadian Trucking Alliance and is a Director of the founding Board of Directors of CentrePort Canada.

Nominated by the City of Winnipeg, Mr. H. Sanford Riley C.M., LLB, is the President and CEO of Richardson Financial Group Limited. Mr. Riley is presently Chairman of the University of Winnipeg Foundation, Chairman of The North West Company and is a member of several boards of directors. A recipient of numerous awards, Mr. Riley was appointed to the Order of Canada in July 2002.

Nominated by Economic Development Winnipeg, Mr. Paul Soubry is the President and CEO of New Flyer Industries. Mr. Soubry serves on the Board of Directors of Mondetta Clothing Company, Smartpark Development Corporation, The Associates of the Asper School of Business, and Economic Development Winnipeg.


The Board of Directors is comprised of 15 members which 11 are nominated by local public and private sector agencies.

Members Nominated by the City of Winnipeg
Dr. Glenn Feltham, Dean, I.H. Asper School of Business
Kerry Hawkins, Retired President, Cargill Limited
Sandy Riley, President & CEO of Richardson Financial Group LTD (in Partnership with James
Richardson & Sons Limited)

Members Nominated by the Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce
Doneta Brotchie. President, FUNdamentals Creative Ventures
Tom Bryk, FCA, President & CEO, Cambrian Credit Union

Member Nominated by Economic Development Winnipeg
Paul Soubry, President & CEO, New Flyer Industries

Member Nominated by Assiniboia Chamber of Commerce
Warren Thompson, President, Prairie Edge Management Inc.

Member Nominated by the RM of Rosser
Tom Payne Jr., President & CEO, Payne Transportation L.P.

Member Nominated by the Government of Canada
Geoffrey Elliot, Retired Former Diplomat and Corporate Executive
Shirley Render, Executive Director, Western Canada Aviation Museum

Member Nominated by the Province of Manitoba
Eugene Kostyra, Retired, Secretary to the Community and Economic Development Committee
of Cabinet (CEDC), Government of Manitoba

Members Nominated by the Board
Jim Carr, President and CEO, Business Council of Manitoba
Janice Filmon, Corporate Director
David Friesen, Chairman, Friesens Corporation
Garth Smorang, Lawyer, Myers Weinberg

Winnipeg Airports Authority is a non-share capital corporation responsible for the management and operation of Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and affiliate businesses. Winnipeg Airports Authority serves our region by providing value to our customers and community. A source of pride for our community, we strive to be a leader in its growth and development.

For further information:

Christine Alongi
Director, Communications & Public Affairs
Winnipeg Airports Authority Inc
Phone: 204.987.2021 24 Hour Media Line: 204.992.2791

Similar Posts

Meet A Member | BDC

Meet A Member | BDC

BDC is the bank for Canadian entrepreneurs. It promotes Canadian entrepreneurship with a focus on small and medium-sized businesses; it works with...

read more
Meet A Member | SaskTel

Meet A Member | SaskTel

Reliability—It's the cornerstone of your peace of mind.   When it comes to essential services like your business phone, cloud, IT services, and...

read more