Manitoba Trucking Association Honours the Best of Industry at Annual Awards Banquet

Nov 19, 2010 | Corporate Member News

The Manitoba Trucking Association honoured the best and brightest of the industry last night with an awards banquet held at The Gates on Roblin. Despite the snowy conditions, guests and honourees attended the banquet, now in its sixth year, to celebrate the noble contributions individuals have made to trucking in Manitoba through commitment, volunteerism and policy direction.

Also in attendance at the banquet was the Honourable Minister of Infrastructure and Transportation Steve Ashton, who was on hand to accept a portrait commissioned by the Manitoba Trucking Association. Local artist Glenn Hayes painted the portrait, meant to represent trucking in the province from its rural roots through to the major economic role it plays today.

Each year, members of the Manitoba Trucking Association nominate industry peers to receive several awards based on contributions they have made to not only the association, but to the trucking industry in Manitoba as a whole. The categories and recipients of last night’s awards are:

  • 2010 Volvo Trucks Manitoba Driver of the Year: Bill Gagnon, Big Freight Systems
  • Payne Transportation LP Associate of the Year Award: Chris Fredrickson, Peterbuilt Manitoba
  • MTA/Shaw Tracking Distinguished Member Award: YRC Reimer Express Lines
  • MTA/RBC Royal Bank Service to Industry Award: Cameron Mayor, Goodyear Tire
  • 2010 Manitoba Trucking Association Pioneer Club inductees:

R.J. Garroni, Garroni International Logistic Corp

Tom Stumpf, General Steam Ltd.

Bob Dolyniuk

“We are delighted to be hosting this event for the sixth year now, and each year it becomes more difficult to pick just one recipient for these awards,” says Manitoba Trucking Association Executive Director Bob Dolyniuk, “with so many deserving members to choose from the selection process is very tight. It’s great to see so many members out supporting this banquet tonight.”

The evening concluded with entertainment; the comedy stylings of Matt Falk.

The Manitoba Trucking Association could not have held such an exceptional event without the support of industry sponsors. The MTA would like to thank Bison Transport, Manitoba Public Insurance, Arnold Bros. Transportation Ltd. and Beaver Truck Centre for sponsoring the reception, dinner, table wine and entertainment respectively. Also thanks goes out to Gold Sponsors Custom Truck Sales, AON Reed Stenhouse, Penner International and Peterbuilt, as well as Silver Sponsors BFL Insurance Services, Cole International, EBD Enterprises, Glen McLeod & Son Ltd., Jade Transport, Payne Transportation, Sysco Winnipeg and Trailer Wizards.

The Manitoba Trucking Association exists to develop and maintain a safe and healthy business environment for our industry members.

For more information contact:

Bob Dolyniuk
Executive Director
Phone: (204) 632-6600
E-mail: [email protected]  

Similar Posts

Meet A Member | BDC

Meet A Member | BDC

BDC is the bank for Canadian entrepreneurs. It promotes Canadian entrepreneurship with a focus on small and medium-sized businesses; it works with...

read more
Meet A Member | SaskTel

Meet A Member | SaskTel

Reliability—It's the cornerstone of your peace of mind.   When it comes to essential services like your business phone, cloud, IT services, and...

read more