Manitoba Trucking Association Announces 2010 Scholarship Recipients

Sep 9, 2010 | Corporate Member News

Nine deserving individuals were awarded scholarships by the Manitoba Trucking Association (MTA) at their annual Scholarship Presentation Luncheon held today. 

MTA President Tom Payne (right) and Roger Gagne of the MTA Associated Trades Division with scholarship recipient Kyle Handcock

For the 24th consecutive year, these scholarships have been offered by the MTA to member employees and their dependants, in an effort to recognize the contribution of member firms to the trucking industry. The scholarships are offered in two categories: Academic awards and Apprenticeship awards.

The winners of the Academic Scholarships were Darcy Marion (Marion Trucking Ltd.), Marc de Rocquigny (L&J Bulk Milk Transport Ltd.) and Kyle Hancock (Arnold Bros.) The recipient of the Winnipeg Transportation Club Scholarship is Robin Nguyen (Jade Transport Ltd.), and Robert Prettie (VM Transport Ltd.) is the winner of the Edward Ewanochko Scholarship. The winner of the Level 1 Transport Trailer Technician award is Travis Zinkowski (Bison Transport) and Terrence Degerness (Freightliner Manitoba Ltd.) is the recipient of the Level 1 Transport Truck Mechanic. The Level 2 Transport Truck Mechanic award winner is Tim Janzen (Maxim Truck and Trailer), and the Level 2 Transport Trailer Technician award goes to Barry Biswanger (Kleysen Transportation Solutions).

Academic scholarships are awarded to applicants that have the highest overall average in 4-40S subjects. The apprenticeship scholarships are awarded to the top Level 1 and Level 2 graduates in the Transport Truck Mechanic and Trailer Mechanic Apprenticeship program. The Associated Trades Division generously sponsors the scholarship and the Level 2 apprenticeship awards in the amount of $1000 each. The Vehicle Maintenance Council sponsors two awards in the amount of $1000 each to the Level 1 apprentices.

In addition, the Edward M. Ewanochko Transportation Scholarship was created in honour of Edward Ewanochko to promote professional growth within the truck transportation industry.  The Winnipeg Transportation Club Scholarship award is provided to assist students either planning to study or already pursuing post-secondary education in a field related to the transportation industry. The selection of these two scholarship recipients is based on a combination of academic achievement, community involvement and financial need.

The Manitoba Trucking Association offers these scholarships in its continued efforts to make the residents of Manitoba aware of the importance of the trucking industry. In Manitoba, approximately 32,000 people are employed either directly or indirectly within our industry.

The Manitoba Trucking Association exists to develop and maintain a safe and healthy business environment for our industry members.

For more information contact:

Bob Dolyniuk
Executive Director
Phone: (204) 632-6600
E-mail: [email protected]  

Similar Posts

Meet A Member | BDC

Meet A Member | BDC

BDC is the bank for Canadian entrepreneurs. It promotes Canadian entrepreneurship with a focus on small and medium-sized businesses; it works with...

read more