Manitoba Women’s Advisory Council Celebrates 30th Anniversary

Jun 25, 2010 | Government News

Council has Contributed to Strong, Diverse Women’s Movement in Manitoba:  Howard 

Labour and Immigration Minister Jennifer Howard, minister responsible for the status of women, today joined a celebration in honour of the 30th anniversary of the Manitoba Women’s Advisory Council (MWAC). 

The Honourable Jennifer Howard

“The strong and dedicated women who have been council members are to be congratulated for their work in highlighting and promoting important issues and giving women in Manitoba a stronger voice in government action,” said Howard.  “Through the years, this council has fostered opportunities for networking, sharing information and raising awareness, while also helping government to identify key issues that affect women in Manitoba.” 

Originally established to forge a closer link between government and the women of Manitoba, the council has been responsible for creating a legacy of resources and services for the women’s community such as publications like Living in Manitoba:  A Resource Guide for Immigrant Women and Parenting on Your Own.  It also supports the recognition of outstanding women in the province through the promotion of annual events like International Women’s Day and Women’s History Month and recognizes the issue of gender-based violence at the annual Sunrise Memorial. 


“Through the past three decades the council has included numerous committed women who have created a lasting legacy for all women in Manitoba,” said Howard.  “Bringing women together and recognizing their drive for equality in all aspects of life empowers all of us to stand and speak and demand change that will ultimately benefit all Manitobans.” 

The council works within the Manitoba status of women division to represent the issues and concerns for Manitoba women. It is responsible for maintaining contact with women in the community and presenting their concerns to government. To ensure provincewide representation, council members are chosen to reflect the geographic and cultural diversity of the province. The council chair is appointed for three years and members carry out two-year terms.

Similar Posts