Manitoba’s best and brightest volunteers will be recognized for their contributions in helping causes across the province, Housing and Community Development Minister Kerri-Irvin-Ross announced today. 

Minister Kerri Irvin-Ross

Minister Kerri Irvin-Ross

“Volunteers are the everyday heroes who selflessly contribute their time and energy to build trails, coach our kids and run seniors centres – all of which lead to improving the quality of life for Manitobans,” said Irvin-Ross.  “We can all take great pride in the accomplishments of these leaders and I congratulate them on their work in the community.” 

The volunteers will be honoured at a gala affair tonight. 

“The annual awards are a way of acknowledging the tremendous contributions volunteers have made to help their communities become stronger and be more vibrant,” said Dennis Dyck, Volunteer Manitoba executive director.

The 2007 National Survey of Giving, Volunteering and Participating indicates that 54 per cent of Manitobans over the age of 15 volunteer, contributing approximately 81.5 million hours annually.  At minimum wage, this effort is valued at over $733 million.

LIST OF AWARD WINNERS: 2010 Volunteer Manitoba Award recipients

Lieutenant Governor’s Make A Difference Award

  • Beggie Anderson (Interlake)
  • Mavis and Earl Asmundson (Eastman)
  • Sandra Cadieux (Parkland)
  • Dennis Dupont (Central)
  • Lila Goodspeed (Winnipeg)*
  • Doreen Romanow (Winnipeg)
  • Anne Walker (Westman)

*Also recipient of the 2010 Lieutenant-Governor’s Vice-Regal Volunteer Award

Premier’s Volunteer Service Award


  • Charles Bergstresser (Morris)
  • Channing Lavallée (St. Ambroise)


  • Bénévoles du Centre Flavie-Laurent (Winnipeg)
  • Evergreen Basic Needs (Gimli)
  • Pinawa Bus Depot Volunteers (Pinawa)


  • Shelley Chochinov (Anola)
  • Wendy Cull (The Pas)
  • Elizabeth (Betty) Laschuk (Winnipeg)
  • Leona Nickel (Rosenfeld)
  • Rose Taylor (Rorketon)

Mayor’s Volunteer Service Award

  • Fit Feet on the Street – People helping People (Workplace)
  • Friends of Harte Trail (Environment)
  • Spirit’s Call Choir (Arts)
  • The Jon Sigurdsson Chapter IODE (Human Services)
  • The Mood Disorders Association of Manitoba Inc. (Education)
  • Winnipeg Regional Health Authority H1N1 Pandemic Immunization Volunteers (Mobilization of Volunteers)

HSBC Bank Canada Business Award

  • Canadian Footwear
  • Maxim Truck and Trailer

Golden Hand Award (Media)

  • Garth Buchko,Corus Radio Winnipeg
  • Diane Kashton, CTV Winnipeg
  • Scott Taylor, Grassroots News

Investors Group Arts and Culture Award

  • Jim Gibbs (Winnipeg)
  • Russell History Books Committee (Russell)

RBC Royal Bank Local Hero Award

  • Strini Reddy (Winnipeg)

Manitoba Lotteries Family Volunteer Award

  • Fred and Margaret Ann Howard (Newdale)

Volunteer Manitoba Outstanding Leadership Award

  • Ray Johnson (Portage la Prairie)