Premier Appoints Interim Ministers

Sep 14, 2009 | Government News

Gary Doer

Gary Doer

Premier Gary Doer announced today he has named three cabinet ministers to assume the responsibilities of Andrew Swan, Steve Ashton and Greg Selinger, who have all stepped down from their portfolios to run for the leadership of the New Democratic Party.

Agriculture, Food and Rural Initiatives Minister Rosann Wowchuk will assume responsibility for finance, Crown corporations, French language services, the Civil Service Commission and Manitoba Hydro. Infrastructure and Transportation Minister Ron Lemieux will take over responsibility for intergovernmental affairs and the Emergency Measures Organization, and Labour and Immigration Minister Nancy Allan will assume responsibility for competitiveness, training and trade, the Manitoba Liquor Control Commission and the Manitoba Lotteries Corporation.

“I’m pleased the candidates involved in the leadership race have agreed to voluntarily step aside from their respective portfolios,” said Doer. “This ensures the contest has a level playing field.”

As members of Treasury Board, Wowchuk and Lemieux are familiar with the issues in finance and intergovernmental affairs, and Allan has worked closely in the past with Swan to develop Manitoba Competitiveness Training and Trade’s new apprenticeship programs, said Doer.


Similar Posts